The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

The Worst Christmas Song. Ever.

on December 18, 2011

I heard this little gem last year for the first time.  I cannot tell you how much I detest this song.

Before the big reveal, let’s get a few things straight.  I love the original; most of us probably do.  Also, I am neither ultra-traditional nor ultra-conservative.  I like it when artists remix traditional music.  Sadly, I don’t think these people count as artists.  I could auto-tune the heck out of a song and call it a remix, too.  In the dictionary sense it would be a remix.  In the good taste and creative sense, it would not be a remix.  It would be a tragedy. Thankfully I know my limits.

The song is “Angels We Have Heard On High” {love} remixed {in the dictionary sense, not the good taste sense} by Family Force 5.  FF5 – as they are lovingly called by their dozens of fans – is self-described as “Part party-bangers, part grimy rockers, FAMILY FORCE 5’s booty-quaking beats and face-melting synths” (emphasis theirs, not mine).

Their remix doesn’t really seem to fit with their portrayal of themselves.  But I’ll let you be the judge.  If you can’t stand to listen to the whole thing, I beg of you to go to 2:04 where things really fall apart   the freebasing of acid obviously started they take artistic license to a whole new level.

“Flap your wings in the air like you just don’t care.”

I have no words.

None.

3 responses to “The Worst Christmas Song. Ever.

  1. That’s just not even COOL! I don’t mind some remakes and modern twists – but THAT song in THAT way? gross…

  2. Anna da Momz says:

    On behalf of Family Force 5 fans, I apologize for their clear misfire of this great song. I can’t even defend the Chipmunk cameo…there are not words. All I can do is sit here and go like this:

    O.O

    Now I have to go and remind myself of why I DO like this band…

  3. Alaska Girl at Heart says:

    Yikes!…that’s about all I can say.

Leave a Reply

