The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Happy New Year??

on January 13, 2012

Is it too late to say that?  I stole this from Amanda at Baby Bangs.  She posted this today and if it’s not too late for her, it’s not too late for me.

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?

Got to spend an actual, real holiday with my Kendra!

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

A few friends, but no one super close to me.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No.  Thank God.

5. What countries did you visit?

USA and USA.

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?

I would like a mandolin slicer, but I won’t die if I don’t get it.

7. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

A Sunday in May when God told me that He really did want me to do something I told him I’d never, ever, in a million years do.

September 12 – the day I did that thing I told God I was never going to do.

October 30 – the day my oldest turned 16.

November 7 – the day my oldest got his driver’s license which greatly impacted my life in a wonderful way.

8. What was your biggest achievement for the year?

September 12

9. What was your biggest failure?

My yard.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Just a couple of colds here and there.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Adidas running shoes, even though all I do is walk.

12. Where did most of your money go?

American Express

13. What did you get really excited about?

Having Kendra move back to Washington state.

14. What song will always remind you of 2011?

“Enchanted” by Taylor Swift.  Perfectly describes the night I met my husband.  You can read the lyrics here.

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:
-Happier or sadder?

So. much. happier.

-Thinner or fatter?

The same.  Great.

-Richer or poorer?

Same.

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Photography.

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Procrastinate.

18. How did you spend Christmas?

We had Christmas Eve dinner at our house with my dad.  We opened our gifts and went to the Christmas Eve service at church.  Christmas Day we spent the day with some of Tyler’s aunts, uncles and cousins . . . a first for me.

19. What was your favorite TV program?

Over all it would have to be Project Runway.

20. What were your favorite books of the year?

The Help, Grace for the Good Girl, To Die For (historical fiction revolving around Anne Boleyn.)

21. What was your favorite music this year?

This is the year I discovered Taylor Swift.  My daughter is a bonafide “Swifty” and a small part of me is, too.

22. What were your favorite films of the year?

The Help, Soul Surfer

23. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I can’t even remember!!!  I turned 42 in August

24. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

I guess if I was in heaven, but 2011 was pretty great.

25. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?

Uhhhh, do I HAVE a personal fashion?  I think “comfortable” is high on the list of priorities for me.

26. What kept you sane?

My husband.

27. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.

What God calls you to, He equips you for.  And if you obey, there will be unexplainable joy.  Overflowing, freak yourself out joy.

Leave a Reply

