The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

That banging sound you hear?

on January 24, 2012

It’s my head against a wall.  Let me back up and explain.

Years and years ago in this homeschooling journey, I found Sonlight Curriculum.  I immediately fell head over heels in love with it.  A literature approach to learning, what else better could there be?  No boring textbooks.  No endless lecturing by teachers (i.e. me).  No busy work workbooks.  Just learning focused around really great stories.

I mean really.  Sarah, Plain and Tall is read during American history.  As is The Red Badge of Courage, To Kill a Mockingbird, and The Adventures of Tom Sawyer.  The entire world is explored in later elementary.  Education via classic literature.  What’s not to love?

When Austin started high school last year, I switched his history over to textbooks.  I got a very good piece of advice from a longtime homeschool mom.  She said that in college, there really isn’t a “literature approach to learning.”  Dangit if she wasn’t right and thus, the switch was made.  I kind of felt bad for Austin when I pulled out a history textbook last year.  He made the switch with no comment.  He still had quite a bit of literature to read, but he was used to it.

Fast forward to this morning.  Austin was starting his history, pointed to his textbook and said to me, “This is the best history I’ve ever read.  For the first time ever I don’t feel like I’m watching paint dry when I read it.”

Well, geeze!  I’m glad I’ve spent all that money over the years trying to broaden your horizons.  I should have just bought a history book and stuck it in front of your face.

I didn’t say that.  I just banged my head on a wall.

Leave a Reply

