The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

The secret to life and one of my trade secrets

on January 28, 2012

It’s no big secret that I love to cook.  I don’t love to bake, so don’t go there.  Baking is so persnickity!  If you think an added ingredient will taste good, you really can’t just throw it in without adjusting everything else or it won’t turn out.  But if you’re cooking?  Just throw it in . . . it all works out.  And I am the queen of throwing things in.

Back to the secret to life.  The secret is two words: browned butter.  I can’t think of a recipe on the face of this earth that wouldn’t benefit from browned butter.  Karly over at Buns in My Oven explains the process of browning butter in her recipe for Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies.  She has another recipe, Brown Butter Lemon Garlic Pasta, that is probably going to be made tonight in this house.

In her chocolate chip cookie recipe, after the butter is browned she returns it to the refrigerator to let it harden up.  This is the only recipe I’ve ever seen that called for so don’t think you need to re-harden it if you’re using it in other recipes.

Now that I’ve told you the secret to life, I’ll tell you my trade secret.  When making homemade macaroni and cheese, brown the butter.  AND when the butter gets to just a little less brown than you’d like, add garlic salt (replace any salt in your recipe with garlic salt).  The salt will brown with the butter and whoa Nellie!  You’ve got a masterpiece on your hands.

You’re welcome.

**By the way, Karly is also the creator of Hot Bacon Cheese Dip.  I pinned her recipe on Pinterest and it’s been repinned almost 5,000 times.  It is seriously THAT good.**

3 responses to “The secret to life and one of my trade secrets

  1. I love reading that blog. Haven’t made anything from it yet, but it all sure looks good. I think that Hot Bacon Cheese Dip would sure taste good in the Rustic Bread we are all making now. I might have to try that one of these days soon.

  2. […] There just aren’t words for this.  Make it and you’ll see.  But whatever you do, don’t forget to brown your butter and garlic salt! […]

  3. Karly says:

    You’re so sweet for linking me up!

    I still haven’t had a chance to make mac and cheese, but I’m so excited to try it with browned butter and garlic salt next time!

Leave a Reply

