The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Honey Sour Cream Waffles

on January 30, 2012

I have come to find out a funny thing.  Something that goes against ALL logic and achieves exactly the opposite of what I thought it would.  I am happier when I make breakfast from scratch for the family in the morning.  I know, right?  I’m not a morning person – I am barely functional before noon.

I found this out quite by accident and due to my poor planning skills.  One night before we went to bed, I realized we were out of milk AND all frozen breakfast pastries.  And bread.  And eggs.  Which meant, “What in the world are the kids going to do for breakfast in the morning?”  I steeled myself to the fact that I would need to make them something . . . which was fueled into an almost panic attack because of my guilt.  And how much I don’t like to get out of bed in the mornings.

I decided I’d let the kids sleep in a little longer than usual (the joys of homeschooling) so I wouldn’t have to get up any earlier in order to quell the guilt.  I made waffles with Krusteaz.  I know, not exactly from scratch, but the only ingredient it called for was water and I hadn’t run out of that.  As I was making breakfast, a strange sensation came over me.  I was happy.  I was excited.  I was loving every minute of being in the kitchen.  What in the world was wrong with me?  I decided to not find out.

That morning I made a deal with the kids.  We do school four days a week so I would make a homemade breakfast two of those four days.  They loved the idea and so did I.

I was at the library and just happened to see the book Waffles From Morning to Midnight by Dorie Greenspan.  The Honey Sour Cream Waffles I’m going to post is an adaptation of her Honey-Yogurt Waffles.

The pictures in this post aren’t the best.  It was a very dark and dreary day.

Honey Sour Cream Waffles

3 Tablespoons butter

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 cup old-fashioned oats (not quick oats)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 1/4 cups milk

3/4 cup sour cream (I use fat free)

1/3 cup honey

2 eggs

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1.  Preheat your waffle iron.  If you want to serve the waffles all at once, preheat your oven to 200 degrees and keep the waffles in there until serving time (I use my toaster oven for this).

2.  Melt the butter; reserve.  In a large bowl whisk together the flours, oats, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon.

At this point, I added 2 teaspoons of baking soda.  Luckily I realized my mistake and was able to fish most of it out with my fingers.  Since it only calls for 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon, I thought I’d just “sprinkle” a bit in.  I forgot how big the holes are in the Costco brand cinnamon bottle.  That looks like 1/4 tsp., right?

3.  In another bowl, whisk together milk, sour cream, honey eggs and vanilla until very well blended.  Pour the liquid ingredients over the dry ingredients and whisk until just combined.  Fold in the butter.

4.  Lightly spray the grids of your iron if needed.

5.  Spoon a 1/2 cup of batter onto the grids, spreading the batter evenly.  Close the lid and bake until done.

This recipe really poofs when baking as you can see on my griddle.  Of course, this might have something to do with the fact I added way too much baking soda.

These waffles were an absolute hit!  The batter is a little loose, so the waffles are a tad “floppy” and can be tricky getting off the griddle.  But they’re delicious!!  My son said these are easier to swallow (?) than the Krusteaz waffles I usually make.

That horn in the background?  It’s what I honk out the window when the beagle is barking her fool head off.  She hates that horn.  Hates it!  It gets her attention and she usually shuts up.  I can’t even imagine what the neighbors think.

Leave a Reply

