The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Take heart Mom, they’re listening

on May 11, 2012

One of the things I have been passionate about teaching my children from the time they were born is to not judge anyone based on the color of their skin, outward appearances, etc.  The value of a person is NOT what nationality or race they are.  Just because you knew one polka-dotted idiot does not mean that the whole race of polka-dots are idiots.  I’m right there with Martin Luther King, Jr.  I have a dream that people will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.

Last night, the kids and I were watching, “What Would You Do?”  In one of the scenarios, a white girl introduces her African-American boyfriend to her father.  The white father is very vocal in his disapproval of the situation.  While they are all actors, some of the things the father said were shocking.  At one point, I actually heard my son gasp a little bit at what was being said.  He then looked at me and said, “You know, every time I see or hear things like this, it reminds me of that Dr. Seuss book you used to read to me when I was little.”

He was talking about “The Sneetches.”  We had this book and Austin loved it as a child.  I would get tongue tied reading it, but I read it over and over and over.  I think I might have even fallen asleep a time or two at bedtime.

When he mentioned this, I cried.  I don’t think we’ve read that book in 8 or 9 years but he still remembered.  So take heart, Mom, I promise they’re listening!

Leave a Reply

