The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

A sad tale of woe. Not really.

on June 14, 2012

Since I’m sitting here recovering from my physical therapy session, I thought I’d fill you all in on just how I got to this point.  I’m sure you’re dying to know.

In college, I had a bad rollerskating accident that put me on crutches for a couple of weeks.  I hyper-extended my right knee in a less than graceful fashion.  Fast forward to 2007 and the knee started bothering me big time.  A month or so after the flare up, I dismounted a horse improperly.  That put me in the emergency room and an MRI tube.  One doctor told me it was arthritis, another said scar tissue.   The pain has gotten better over the years but never left.

Fast forward to 2012 and I’m actually training to run a 5K.  Yes, run!  It’s been a goal of mine for years, but one I never seriously attacked until my recent 45 pound weight loss.  The race is the day before my birthday and I was getting extremely excited.  The only problem was that my knee was bothering me and that was not leaving me extremely excited.  I decided to do something about it and finally got into physical therapy last week.

My therapist is as cute and as sweet as a Disney princess.  That should have been my first clue not to trust her.  The big thing she told me is that I have to stop running for 6-8 weeks.  Not that what I was doing could technically be considered running, but still. In fact, she wanted me to give up the treadmill altogether for that time frame.  Needless to say I was bummed.  She said riding a bike would be fine.  The problem with that is that my bike bothered my knee so badly a few years ago that I got mad and sold it.

My sweet husband got me a membership at the Marshall Center so I can ride the stationary bikes there.  I like it, but I’m still bummed a little bit.  However, they run 5K’s around here pretty much year ’round so I should be able to do one in September or October.

Today was my second PT appointment and the Disney princess kicked my butt.  She smiled and sweetly said, “Well, you might be sore tomorrow.”  Might be sore????  I’ll be thankful just to get out of bed in the morning.  I’m hopeful that all of this is going to help my knee and I’ll be able to get back on my treadmill again without (or with much reduced) pain.  I can’t wait to post a blog about the first 5K I run!

Leave a Reply

