The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Overwhelmed

on July 17, 2012

I think I’m going to start posting more often.  One of the reasons I don’t is because I’m afraid of wasting everyone’s time.  I don’t usually have monumental thoughts (or lengthy ones for that matter).  But I do have thoughts that dance around in my head and I might as well write them down.  Because there is no chance I’ll remember everything by the end of the week.

Then I feel bad if I don’t have any pictures.  Sigh.  I just need to get over it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Back to the post.

Overwhelmed.

It’s what I was this past Sunday night.

We have lived in the same town and gone to the same church for just over 8 1/2 years.  And a lot of the people we know at church have been here longer than we have.

Which means I have had the undeniable blessing of watching a bunch of truly fantastic children grow up with my truly fantastic children.

Which means when there are events at church in which parents are invited to recap the past week our children were at summer camp, I become overwhelmed.

The faces that I’ve seen cry because someone took a ball from them are now the almost-grown-up  faces I see singing and lifting hands in praise.  The children that nearly wore me out while I was their teacher in 4th & 5th grade Sunday school are now the ones who give me high fives (and I have to stand on my tiptoes to reach).  The girls that used to cry because their mom was “late” picking them up from Sunday school are the same girls who are praying their moms are nowhere around.

And let’s not get me started on my kids.  We’ll just leave it at this:  I have done the best I can as a parent.  My kids have turned out pretty great so far.  And it’s not all because of me and their dad.  A huge part of it is due to the life they have found at our church.  They are connected, engaged, encouraged and loved by so many people it makes my head swim.

So thank you, New Heights.  We could not have done this parenting thing without you!

One response to “Overwhelmed

  1. Carrie says:

    I, for one, am happy you are posting again. 🙂 I check everyday, because, well, I do. We need to find a good church and soon.

Leave a Reply

