The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

An open letter to homeschool parents

on September 5, 2012

I want you to be encouraged, so here goes.

Do not ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, EVER buy into the horse hooey that your children won’t be “well socialized” by staying at home for school.  Today the socialization issue came full circle for me.  I’ll explain after I give a little background.

I have homeschooled both of my children since kindergarten.  My daughter is in 9th grade this year and going to public school.  The reasons are many but it mostly boils down to us letting the kids decide what they want to do for high school (yes, I realize I just lost some of you there, but hang on).  Obviously if we saw major character or academic concerns, we would be more likely to tell them what to do, but so far so good.  Our son is a junior this year and still homeschooled.  He takes two credits in pre-engineering science at a local skills center, but everything else is at home.

All that to say that over the years I’ve heard many times about how I needed to make sure to properly socialize the children.  Of course this never came from fellow homeschool parents.  It usually came from people who were either somewhat or completely against homeschooling.  They also didn’t know how we operated as a homeschool family.  Keeping my kids from society has never been one of our goals.  The kids have always been very involved in church, sports, homeschool co-ops, and too many other social situations.

Today our daughter started ninth grade in public school.  She already had a group of friends because she goes to church with some girls from her new school.  She also met some of their friends and quickly became friends with them.  She also talked to a girl on her bus and talked to other people with whom she had more than one class with.  She came home absolutely glowing, talking pretty much non-stop about her new friends and everyone she met.

Hello?  Socialization WIN.

Our son had his first day at the skills center today as well.  He came home telling me how he talked to his teacher, found a couple of other guys who like the crazy Christian metal music he likes, the things they talked about during the “get to know you” session and his conversation with an administrator.

Hello?  Socialization WIN.

Seriously homeschool parents, your kids are going to be fine.  I never would have believed it years ago as I was slogging through basic math facts and kids who seemed to cry at the drop of a hat.  I never would have believed all would be well when my daughter was so shy she never did speak to my best friend before we moved, a month before her 6th birthday.  I never would have believed it when my son seemed to lack even the social graces of a wild boar.

Guess what?  They grew up. They were well socialized and aren’t socially backwards or strange.

Hang in there!  You can rock the homeschool years, even if you feel like you can’t!!

2 responses to “An open letter to homeschool parents

  1. Martha says:

    I am writing a paper on homeschooling vs public schools for my college class. I was both homeschooled and public schooled, I think I turned out ok, well, maybe? lol

  2. Carrie says:

    We are doing the opposite, did public school until 6th grade (middle school) and are now having our oldest do online public school, aka k12. He hasn’t started yet do to parental slacking on paperwork, but are thinking he will probably be starting next week. 🙂

    Oh, and that music your son listens to? My husband’s favorite! We listen to it a lot at our house as after 15 years, it has grown on me.

Leave a Reply

